Key changes to GCSEs grading


  • For Year 11 only English Language, English Literature and Mathematics have moved to the new GCSE grades
  • For Year 10 all subjects (with the exception of Business, Media and DT) will be assessed in the new GCSE grade
  • Years 7 – 9 will be assessed in the new GCSE grades
  • 9 levels – 9 (highest) to 1 (lowest)
  • Each grade is broken down into the subgrades, e.g. 4- , 4, 4+
  • Grade 5 = current C+/B- grade


  • You will be given two targets, based upon your performance at the end of KS2 (Year 6):

    End of Year 11 – GCSE Examination target

    • End of Year – acts as a milestone
  • Flightpath to Success diagram designed to support you in understanding where you should aim towards to remain on target
  • Targets are made to be broken, once you achieve your target re-focus and aim to exceed it

Flightpath to Success