The Governing Body

Guildford County School Governing Body is comprised of 6 trust-appointed governors, 6 parent governors, 1 community governor and 4 staff governors (including the Headteacher who is ex-officio).  There are also 2 co-opted governors.

Governors are volunteers who give their time and expertise freely to support the school. Some are parents of students at the school, or whose children previously attended. 

A governor’s term of office is four years.  The Governing Body appoints all governors, except staff and parent governors, where elections are held.  Appointments are made according to the skills needed by the governing body.

3 Governors have resigned within the past 12 months, these are Mr Adam Daniels (resigned 7th December 2015), Mrs Sarah Kershaw (resigned 31st August 2016) and Mrs Kathy Ashford (resigned 31st December 2016).

All governors can be contacted via the school. 




Trust Appointed Governors

Janette Owen (Chair)  

Rotimi Akinsete

Jim Hurman

Pauline Johnson

Jennifer Obaditch

Tom Turcan


Parent Governors

Adrian Hope (Responsible Officer)

Stephanie Code

Indrajit Sugunasingha

Jenevora Williams

Tim Wolfenden

Sarah Wynde (Vice Chair)


Community Governor

Fiona Davidson


Staff Governors

Jack Mayhew (Headteacher)

James Felgate

Adam Day

Carol Smith


Co-opted Governors

Jon Coles

Neil Benjamin


Clerk to Governors

Helen Steward


Articles of Association of GCS

Funding Agreement