Community Links

Polesden Lacey

Go wild activity packs 26 May-3 June Pick up a pack full of crafts, activities and games to do as you explore the wild woods of Polesden Lacey. £3 per child or £5 for 2.Teddy bears' picnic at Polesden Lacey Thursdays from 7 June - 19 July, 10.30-11.30am Bring your toddler and their teddy along to an interactive hour of stories, games and activities. Suitable for 18 months+ Normal admission applies, booking essential.

Call 01372 452048 for details nationaltrust.org.uk/polesdenlacey

When you visit, donate, volunteer or join the National Trust, your support helps us to look after special places for ever, for everyone.

Guildford Fun Day - Sunday 26 August 12 - 3pm

A free event, held at Guildford College, with live entertainment, inflatables, food etc..

This event is put on by Love Guildford and Family Church Guildford, and more information can be found here: https://www.facebook.com/events/450323722084467/.  If you would like further information, please email love.guildford@family.church

**************************************

 CONSIDERING TRAINING TO TEACH?

Teach Surrey offers PRIMARY and SECONDARY school-based training placements, with some salaried places available.

WANT TO KNOW MORE?

Visit our website www.teachsurrey.org.uk to find out more about the training programmes and TAX-FREE bursaries available.

Or email or call our friendly recruitment team at contactscitt@georgeabbot.surrey.sch.uk or call 01483 888048 for an information pack

************************************** 

 

All in our community are warmly welcome to join us at our School's Foreign Film Club, which shows fantastic foreign films each month through term time, on a Thursday night from 7pm in our Sixth Form Common Room, Guildford County School, Farnham Road, Guildford, Surrey GU2 4LU. The full programme for 2017-2018 can be found here. Entry is free! 

We are very grateful to Surrey's ‘County Councillor Town Centre Cluster’ for funding our projector to enable us to offer this opportunity to our wider community. For more details about the FFC, please contact Lesley Nicole on cam@guildfordcounty.co.uk 

********************************************

 

 

 

**************************************

Guildford County School - A huge thank you to our donors, sponsors and supporters!

We are pleased to acknowledge the wonderful support we receive from many companies and organisations in our community.

In 2016/2017, the following companies and organisations kindly supported us directly: (many more kindly donated prizes for our raffles and auctions via our Friends organisation)

Grant to support our Reediscovery programme (purchase of bassoons and oboes): The Humphrey Richardson Taylor Charitable Trustwww.hrtaylortrust.org.uk

Grant towards our Fit for IT programme: Garfield Weston Foundation - www.garfieldweston.org  

Fundraising event match funding: Barclays PLC - www.barclays.co.uk

SIlver Sponsors: Clarus Wealth - www.claruswealth.co.uk

Pryer Construction - www.pryer.co.uk 

The Institute of Physics - www.iop.org

 

Urnfield refurbishment project - support in kind:

White Barnes Carpets and Flooring Ltd - www.whitebarnes.co.uk ; 01483 572735

Howdens, Guildford - www.howdens.com01483 579262

Wickes, Guildford - www.wickes.co.uk01483 459397

2016 Awards Evening sponsorship:

Languages Awards sponsored by: University of Surrey - www.surrey.ac.uk

Art Awards sponsored by:  Lytle Associates Architects - www.lytleassociates.com

Outstanding Performance Award sponsored by: M E A Construction Consultants - www.meaconsult.eu

Computing Awards sponsored by: Class Technology Solutions Limited - www.class-technology.co.uk

Technology Awards sponsored by: Champion Timber - www.championtimber.com; Tel: 01483 510170

Business Planning Award sponsored by: Extended Thinking - www.extendedthinking.com

Mathematics Awards sponsored by: SRLV Accountants - www.srlv.co.uk

Pryer Construction - www.pryer.co.uk

Securafit - www.securafit.co.uk

Wyclean Group Ltd - www.wycleangroup.co.uk                   

Pet Doctors - www.petdoctors.co.uk

Beard Construction - www.beardconstruction.co.uk 

Guildford Schools & Sport - www.guildfordschoolsandsport.co.uk               

Pope Consulting - www.popeconsulting.co.uk      

D O A Consulting Structural Engineers - www.doasteng.co.uk

Thank you also to all those companies who advertise in our school folder: Biddles of Guildford; Moore Stephens; Pet Doctors; Mount Alvernia Hospital; Guildfordians RFC; Hamptons International; Barton Electrical Services; KFF Catering; Class Technology Solutions Limited; Cheesman Brothers Ltd; Burneston Dental; ActivZone Gym; George Weil and Sons Ltd; Red Door Creative.

If your name or company is not mentioned here and you would like it to be, or if you would like to discuss how supporting Guildford County School could boost your prospect reach or community/employee relationships, please contact Claudia (cdrake@guildfordcounty.co.uk) - thank you.

*******************************************

Surrey County Council Fostering Service
 
Did you know that there are over 860 children in care in Surrey?
Over 230 of those children have had to be placed with foster carers outside Surrey, sometimes many miles away, as we don't have enough Surrey foster carers. If you think you may be able to help, do get in touch

Did you know that there are different types of fostering, and sometimes it is possible to work alongside fostering?

Book A Home Visit To Chat To Us About Fostering

If you would like to chat about fostering with us in your home, and have a couple of hours to spare Monday - Friday between 9am and 8pm, why not give our friendly Fran a call or email. There's no obligation to take your enquiry further, if after talking to us you decide that fostering isn't for you at this time.

Call: 0800 0969 626

Email: fostering.recruitment@surreycc.gov.uk

***************************************


Voluntary Action South West Surrey

We are a local organisation that finds volunteers for hundreds of different local and national charitable organisations, funded by the local authority.

We would be very keen to hear from any of your parents, staff or students (age 14+) who are interested in volunteering. We are able to help students find suitable Duke of Edinburgh volunteering roles and/or school holiday volunteering.

Farnham Volunteer Centre – 01252 725961

Guildford Volunteer Centre – 01483 565456